2700 B.C.-1000 A.D

1000 A.D-1800 A.D.

1947 A.D.-1999 A.D



Modern India -- 1800 A.D. to 1947 A.D.
The Freedom struggle

1802  A.D.          Treaty of Bassein
1803-1805 A.D. The Second Anglo-Maratha war: The British defeat the Marathas at Assaye:
                           Treaty of Amritsar
1814-1816 A.D. The Anglo-Gurkha war
1817-1818 A.D. The Pindari war
1817-1819 A.D. The last Anglo-Maratha war: Marathas finally crushed by the British
1824-1826 A.D. The First Burmese war
1829                    Prohibition of Sati
1829-1837 A.D. Suppression of Thuggee.
1831                    Raja of Mysore deposed and its administration taken over by East India Company.
1833                    Renewal of Company's Charter; Abolition of company's trading rights.
1835                    Education Resolution.
1838                    Tripartite treaty between Shah Shuja, Ranjit Singh and the British.
1839-1842 A.D. First Afghan war
1843                    Gwalior war
1845-1846 A.D. First Anglo-Sikh war
1848                    Lord Dalhousie becomes the Governor-General
1848-1849 A.D. Second Anglo-Sikh war : (Rise of Sikh Power) British annex Punjab as Sikhs
                           are defeated.
1852                    Second Anglo-Burmese war
1853                    Railway opened from Bombay to Thane; Telegraph line from Calcutta to Agra
1857                    First War of Indian Independence: The Sepoy Mutiny
1858                    British Crown takes over the Indian Government.
1861                    Indian Councils Act; Indian High Courts Act; Introduction of the Penal Code
1868                    Punjab Tenancy Act; Railway opened from Ambala to Delhi
1874                    The Bihar Famine
1877                    Delhi Durbar: The Queen of England proclaimed Empress of India
1878                    Vernacular Press Act
1881                    Factory Act; Rendition of Mysore
1885                    First meeting of the Indian National Congress; Bengal Tenancy Act
1891                    Indian Factory Act
1892                    Indian Councils Act to regulate Indian administration
1897                    Plague in Bombay; Famine Commission
1899                    Lord Curzon becomes Governor-General and Viceroy
1905                    The First Partition of Bengal
1906                    Formation of Muslim League; Congress declaration regarding Swaraj
1908                    Newspaper Act
1911                    Delhi Durbar; Partition of Bengal modified to create the Presidency of Bengal
1912                    The Imperial capital shifted from Calcutta to Delhi
1913                    Educational Resolution of the Government of India
1915                    Defence of India Act
1916                    Home Rule League founded; Foundation of Women's University at Poona
1919                    Rowlatt Act evokes protests; Jalianwalla Bagh massacre; The                                    Montague-Chelmsford Reforms offer limited autonomy
1920                    The Khilafat Movement started; Mahatma Gandhi leads the Congress;                              Non-co-operation Movement
1921                    Moplah (Muslim) rebellion in Malabar; Census of India
1922                    Civil Disobedience Movement; Chauri-Chaura violence leads to Gandhi suspending                              movement
1923                    Swarajists in Indian Councils; Certification of Salt Tax; Hindu-Muslim riots
1925                    Reforms Enquiry committee Report
1926                    Royal Commission on Agriculture; Factories Act
1927                    Indian Navy Act; Simon Commission Appointed
1928                    Simon Commission comes to India: Boycott by all parties; All Parties Conference
1929                    Lord Irwin promises Dominion Status for India; Trade Union split; Jawaharlal
                            Nehru  hosts the National Flag at Lahore
1930                    Civil Disobedience movement continues; Salt Satyagraha: Gandhiji's Dandi March;                              First Round Table Conference
1931                    Second Round Table Conference; Irwin-Gandhi Pact; Census of India
1932                    Suppression of the Congress movement; Third Round Table Conference; The                              Communal Award; Poona Pact
1933                    Publication of White Paper on Indian reforms
1934                    Civil Disobedience Movement called off; Bihar Earthquake
1935                    Government of India Act
1937                    Inauguration of Provincial Autonomy; Congress ministries formed in a majority of                              Indian provinces
1939                    Political deadlock in India as Congress ministries resign
1942                    Cripps Mission to India; Congress adopts Quit India Resolution; Congress leaders                              arrested; Subhash Chandra Bose forms Indian National Army
1944                    Gandhi-Jinnah Talks break down on Pakistan issue
1945                    First trial of the Indian Army men opened
1946                    Mutiny in Royal Indian Navy; Cabinet Mission's plan announced; Muslim League                              decides to participate in the Interim Government; Interim Government formed;                              Constituent Assembly's first meeting
3 June 1947        Announcement of Lord Mountbatten's plan for partition of India.
15 Aug 1947       Partition of India and Independence